Week 3 Activity

Back for my second blog post and after playing around with a number of new web 2.0 tools over the last couple of weeks i thought i would share my thoughts on them and if i found them to help my productivity.
First up is Facebook, unlike some of the other forms of web 2.0 i will cover in this post i have been using Facebook like alot of people around my age for a number of years now (5 in my case) and as many of you may expect or have been witness too, it certainly slows down my personal productivity on a studying front! No surprise there i guess! How far Facebook has come in the last couple of years and  how it has been integrated into everyones lives is evident by the appearance of it in the 00’s best of list in Entrainment Weekly :
How on earth did we stalk our exes, remember our co-workers’ birthdays, bug our friends, and play a rousing game of Scrabulous before Facebook?
And by October a feature film called “The Social Network” which shows the story of how Facebook was formed. Im not sure about you but i never imagined going to the cinema to watch a 2 hour long film about a website?!? In all seriousness though Facebook is a great way of keeping in touch with friends and organising events…. so maybe it does help my productivity abit my social productivity.
One of the largest growing forms of web 2.0 appears to be Twitter but despite this i used it for the first time around 2 weeks ago and none of my friends are currently using it and if im honest im struggling to understand the obession with it. From my point of view the majority of people using it follow/stalk celebraties and gain a look into there lives and if im honest i just dont understand why… maybe its a guy thing? Id love for anyone to comment or tell me different. One aspect of Twitter i have liked is the ability to hash tag a Tweet meaning a group of people in this case a University class are able to follow a particular topic and all discussion in one area. The use of this feature has saved me alot of time and able to read up on fellow classmates opinion and thoughts. And maybe i can therefore see how in a organizational structure how useful it would be if used correctly.
The next form of Web 2.0 ill be looking at is RSS feeds, having never really used them i decided to download a RSS reader/viewer from iTunes called “The Early Edition” which displays the news sites ive chosen to follow as a traditional newspaper. News is something i normally catch up on when im either traveling to and from uni or an a break so without reviewing the app more the use off RSS, i found that not having to go searching for my news gave me alot more time reading stories i wouldn’t normally of read as everything was in one place! Although having also tried RSS feeds on a internet browser i must admit the presentation of the app i downloaded made a big difference to the way i read the stories.
Having tried out just a few forms of Web 2.0 over the last week its clear to me that they can have a differing effects on productivity, certainly the time writing this post would of been shorter if it wasn’t for Facebook chat!
And to finish, the following video is one i came across around a year ago now, but it shows the difference computers and the internet has made to our daily lives and the impact it will have on us in the future.
Some of the most powerful facts from the video in my opionion are:
  • There are over 200 million registered users on MySpace…If MySpace were a country, it would be the 5th largest in the world
  • There are 31 Billion searches on Google every month in 2006 this number was 2.7 billion
  • It is estimated that a weeks worth of the New York Times contains more information than a person was likely to come across in a lifetime in the 18th century
The possibilites are endless.

One thought on “Week 3 Activity

  1. Hey there

    Trust me, the lack of obsession with Twitter is definitely not just ‘a guy thing’! I really couldn’t care less about what celebrities are saying or doing (mind you I don’t even buy magazines) and even if my friends were on it I have no interest in updating what I am doing every second of every day – seems a little bit OCD to me :/

    And I’m glad I’m not the only one who really doesn’t ‘get’ the obsession either!

    Natasha

Leave a Reply

